The WHO Expert Committee on Selection and Use of Essential Medicines created the AWaRe Classification of Antibiotics in 2017 as a tool to support antibiotic stewardship efforts at the local, national, and international levels. Antibiotics are categorized into three groups: Access, Watch, and Reserve, to emphasize the significance of their appropriate use while also taking into account the impact of various antibiotics and antibiotic classes on antimicrobial resistance. A total of 258 antibiotics are included in the 2021 update of the AWaRe classification, up from 78 previously unclassified medications.

This classification is a helpful tool for keeping tabs on antibiotic usage, setting goals, and assessing the results of stewardship policies that seek to maximize antibiotic use and reduce antimicrobial resistance. A country-level goal of using Access group antibiotics for at least 60% of all antibiotic usage is included in the WHO's 13th General Programme of Work for 2019–2023. This information can be found on the WHO website, and it is presented here for ease of access: